Meditation for the Seventh and Eighth Chakras

Meditation: Meditation for the Seventh and Eighth Chakras

  • Mantra: Ang Sang Wahe Guru
  • Teacher: Yogi Bhajan
  • Posture:

    Sit in Easy Pose with the spine straight. Place the hands in gyan mudra. Chant the mantra 'Ang Sang Wahe Guru' for up to 31 minutes. Translation: "The Divine is within me and vibrates in every part of my being."

  • Time: 11 to 31 minutes
  • Eyes: Focus at the tip of the nose
  • Teacher's Notes & More Information:

    This meditation is for the 7th and 8th chakras. It is practiced to build the seventh and eight chakras.  It is also practiced to build intuition. 

    The 7th chakra is The Crown Chakra. It’s also known as the “Tenth Gate” and, by its Sanskrit name, Sahasrara, which means “thousand petalled lotus.” The Sahasrara is located at the top of the head and is associated with the pineal gland, which is said to be the seat of the soul.  In strengthening the Seventh Chakra, you are focusing on  elevation, unity, humility, surrender, the tenth gate, the seat of the soul, transcendence. and connection to the highest self.


    The 8th chakra is the Aura - it is the magnetic field that surrounds our body and radiates out from us.  In strengthening the Eighth Chakra, we are focusing on radiance, connectedness, projection, protection, vastness, presence, and combines the effects of all the chakras.


    The mantra Ang Sang Wahe Guru is chanted to eliminate loneliness from our hearts and bring us to an awareness of the presence of Love in our lives. 

    This meditation is published in the yoga manual
    Physical Wisdom

  • Complete Mantra:

    Ang Sang Wahe Guru

  • Language: Gurmukhi