Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a system of Hatha yoga popularized in the West by the late Pattabhi Jois. Ashtanga translates as "eight-limbed path" which refers to the eight core teachings from Patanjali's Yoga Sutras. According to Patanjali, the road of self-purification leads to union with the Supreme One. The Eight Limbs, which address both physical and mental cleansing are: yama (morality), niyama (self-purification), asana (postures), pranayama (breathing), pratyahara (sensory control), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi (union with the Universe).

Ashtanga yoga is an excellent system for logically moving through the body to build flexibility and strength. Ashtanga Yoga is broken up into six series of postures, although only the first series and second series are widely taught. The first series is called the Primary Series (Yoga Chikitsa) and detoxifies and aligns the body. The second series is called the Intermediate Series (Nadi Shodana) and cleanses the nervous system while opening the energy centers.

The four Advanced Series (A, B,C, and D) require an enormous level of flexibility and strength as well as spiritual humility.

[ + ]

Why Learn Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga Yoga is excellent for athletes, experienced students of Hatha yoga, and people in good shape. The sequence of postures start at a moderately high level of practice and when first beginning you may want to stick to Short Forms. It is an excellent sequence for healing injuries, building joint strength and keeping fit. When practiced diligently, the Ujjai breathing adds a very meditative element to the practice.

Ashtanga Yoga is wonderful way to keep the body fit and young for a long period of time. Ashtanga is an aerobic form of yoga that works on strengthening the cardiovascular system at same time as the musculoskeletal system. It is a very popular form of yoga with those who want a more vigorous workout along with the more traditional benefits of yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga Wears

Spirit Voyage Organic Scoop Tee   Chakra Yoga Hoody   Ruby Buddha Earrings   Ruby Lotus Om Necklace
Spirit Voyage Organic Scoop Tee   Chakra Yoga Hoody   Ruby Buddha Earrings   Ruby Lotus Om Necklace
        by Darshan Jewelry   by Darshan Jewelry
$28.99   $62.00   $90.00   $93.50