Akaljas Kaur Medley; M.Ed., eRYT, is a humanologist, writer, yoga conduit, great listener, and a lover of the oceans. She is certified through IKYTA and Yoga Alliance in Kundalini and Hatha Yoga. As an independent yogini she teaches Kundalini Yoga, writes, does Jyotish readings, gong sound healings and life-coaching. Kundalini Yoga is the music of her soul and she delights in sharing this amazing transformational technology with whomever is listening.

Originally from the bustling metropolis of Houston, she now lives in Honolulu and is enjoying the island life. She loves to travel and is drawn to places with relaxed welcoming attitudes and a reverence for the natural energies of the environment. When she’s not teaching, writing, studying the stars, breathing, meditating, laying in the sun or playing in the ocean, you can find her getting creative in the kitchen with fresh local ingredients. She firmly believes that life is deliciously precious and every moment holds potential for bliss.

Articles in this series

13 responses to “Kundalini Yoga and the Chakras: Manipura – Navel Chakra”

  1. Third Chakra – Manipura | Golden Link Yoga

    […] Physically, the third chakra is related to our navel center or solar plexus, the area behind and around the belly button. The bodily locations that correspond to this chakra are the pancreas, liver, gall bladder, spleen, digestive system and muscles. If we are not fully connected to the third chakra, we can have troubles with these areas and organs including things like diabetes, hepatitis, indigestion, and ulcers. According to Kundalini Yoga, strengthening the abdominal muscles is a great place to start to bring balance to the third chakra. Read more. […]

  2. Nabhi Kriya for Prana-Apana | My spiritual practise

    […] kriya balances prana and apana by focusing on the Third Chakra at the Navel Point and then at the Heart Center. It is good for general strength, for digestion, for abdominal toning, […]

  3. Kundalini Yoga for Procrastination

    […] the navel center, or Third Chakra, may also help overcome a habit of procrastination.  The Third Chakra is responsible for willpower […]

  4. Kundalini Yoga for Tolerance for People We Don’t Agree With

    […] will be.  To be able to live with humility and tolerance, choose kriyas that will strengthen the Third Chakra, or navel center. By developing the power of the navel center, we develop our sense of self, allowing us to find […]

  5. Kundalini Yoga and the Glands: The Pancreas

    […] Pancreas is associated with the Third Chakra. The third chakra has to do with our own personal power. It is where we learn to have a strong […]

  6. Kundalini Yoga for Being Stuck, Feeling Blocked and Moving Forward

    […] are in balance, you have a a solid earth (root chakra) holding both water (second chakra) and fire (third chakra). When one is feeling overly emotional, water will douse the fire and flood the earth, which […]

  7. Kundalini, Chakras, and Spiritual Evolution | Sohumm
  8. A Multilayered Hymn – 2 | Rigveda

    […] [viii] According to many traditions, including Kundalini Yoga, the third chakra is the actual place of awakening the kundalini energy. http://www.spiritvoyage.com/blog/index.php/kundalini-yoga-and-the-chakras-manipura-navel-chakra/ […]

  9. Second Chakra Healing

    I am interested in what is really the naval chakra? I find information were people are stating that the naval chakra is the secon chakra, but also the third chakra. Which is the true naval chakra? Maybe you could give me some references of this?

    1. Ramdesh Kaur

      The naval chakra is the third chakra. You may be confused by the term “naval point” which is below the belly button in the general region of the 2nd chakra.

  10. Kundalini Yoga for Bullying

    […] improve your self-image and self-esteem, work with the navel center.  A strong navel center, or third chakra, will help to increase feelings of self-worth, and diminish feelings of self-doubt.  Try Advanced […]

  11. 5 Benefits of a Kundalini Yoga Practice

    […] and navel center. A strong core is the key to good form in most asanas. Also, in yogic terms, the navel chakra is associated with will power and persistence. See Divine Alignment by Guru Prem Singh Khalsa for […]

  12. Kundalini Yoga for Forgiveness

    […] […]

Leave a Reply